On this page
- Key takeaways
- What does sublingual turmeric mean?
- Does turmeric absorb better under the tongue than in a capsule?
- How much turmeric does a strip hold next to a capsule?
- What are curcumin oral strips used for?
- What is the most effective way to absorb turmeric?
- Strip or capsule: which turmeric format suits you?
- How do the labels say to take each turmeric format?
- When is a turmeric strip or capsule the wrong buy?
- Who should check with a healthcare provider first?
- FAQ: sublingual turmeric and turmeric strips
- Sources
The short answer: Sublingual turmeric is sold as an absorption shortcut, yet the NIH's turmeric fact page names just one curcumin absorption helper, piperine from black pepper, and says nothing about absorption under the tongue. Our strip lists 20 mg of turmeric extract per 1 Oral Strip (165 mg) serving and melts on top of the tongue. Our capsule lists 800 mg of turmeric root powder and 100 mg of 95% curcuminoids per 2-capsule serving.
Key takeaways
- Betterly's Turmeric & Andrographis Strips dissolve on top of the tongue, so this guide compares an oral strip with a capsule, not true under-the-tongue turmeric.
- The NIH's National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH) credits piperine, from black pepper, with helping curcumin absorb, and it's silent on the space under the tongue.
- NCCIH also links curcumin formulas built for higher absorption to possible liver harm.
- Our turmeric capsule lists 800 mg of root powder and 100 mg of 95% curcuminoids per 2-capsule serving; the strip lists 20 mg of turmeric extract per 1 Oral Strip (165 mg) serving, strength unstated.
- The strip fits someone who wants no water and a vegan label; the capsule fits someone who wants a curcuminoid figure to check.
We sell both formats, the Turmeric & Andrographis Strips and the Turmeric Curcumin & Boswellia Capsules, so keep that in mind as you read. Every product number below is copied from their Supplement Facts panels. Where a panel is silent, we point out the gap instead of guessing.
What does sublingual turmeric mean?
Sublingual turmeric means a turmeric product labeled to be held under your tongue until it dissolves, rather than swallowed as a capsule or stirred into food.
For turmeric, the word does extra work. Curcumin's absorption is the reason pepper extract turns up on so many turmeric labels, and "sublingual" pitches another fix for that worry: take it in through your mouth. No federal page we read puts that fix to the test.
The NCCIH turmeric page credits curcumin with turmeric's yellow color and places it in a family called curcuminoids. So check which one a sublingual label counts. Curcumin, curcuminoids and plain turmeric extract aren't the same measure.
Is a turmeric strip on your tongue sublingual?
Our turmeric strip is an on-the-tongue film, not a sublingual product. Its label says to "Place 1 oral strip on the tongue daily and allow it to dissolve," and we make no mouth-absorption claim for it. The film is built on pullulan, an edible carbohydrate that forms thin sheets, and flavored with mango and orange.
The NIH Office of Dietary Supplements (ODS) botanical background fact sheet describes a dietary supplement as something that "is intended to be taken by mouth as a pill, capsule, tablet, or liquid." Strips aren't named, but a strip is still taken by mouth, so we count it as one more oral format.
Does turmeric absorb better under the tongue than in a capsule?
No federal source we could find shows turmeric absorbs better under the tongue than in a swallowed capsule. NCCIH's turmeric page says nothing about absorption through the lining under the tongue.
Brand pages for turmeric sprays and strips often print big absorption multipliers. We couldn't trace any to an NIH or FDA page, so we don't repeat them.
Bioavailability, the portion of a compound your body absorbs and can use, gets only narrow notes from NCCIH: the curcumin content of oral products varies, and many add substances from other plants, such as piperine. On the bigger question, NCCIH is plain: "We don't know enough to definitively conclude if turmeric or curcumin is beneficial for any health purposes."
How much turmeric does a strip hold next to a capsule?
Betterly's Turmeric & Andrographis Strips list 20 mg of turmeric extract per 1 Oral Strip (165 mg) serving. The Turmeric Curcumin & Boswellia Capsules list 900 mg across two turmeric rows per 2-capsule serving.
Other Betterly formulas list turmeric too, including our joint and Ayurvedic capsules, and our turmeric-versus-curcumin panel breakdown tables that fuller shelf. Here's how three of our turmeric labels line up, including the Milk Thistle & Turmeric Liver Capsules, which list no pepper extract.
| Per serving, from the label | Turmeric & Andrographis Strips | Turmeric Curcumin & Boswellia Capsules | Milk Thistle & Turmeric Liver Capsules |
|---|---|---|---|
| Serving size | 1 Oral Strip (165 mg) | 2 Capsules | 2 Capsules |
| Turmeric rows | Curcuma Longa extract, 20 mg | Root powder, 800 mg; 95% curcuminoids, 100 mg | Turmeric Powder (root), 300 mg |
| Curcuminoid amount (our math) | Not stated | About 95 mg from the extract row; powder's share not stated | Not stated |
| Black pepper | None listed | BioPerine®, 10 mg | None listed |
Of these three, only the capsule lets you calculate a curcuminoid amount: 100 mg of a 95% extract works out to about 95 mg, by our multiplication. Treat that as a floor, since the 800 mg of root powder carries curcuminoids the label doesn't count.
Why milligrams don't compare cleanly across forms
Extract milligrams and powder milligrams aren't the same currency. The ODS botanical fact sheet says the plant in a cup of tea can come packed into an even smaller amount of extract. So 20 mg of extract might stand for more root than 20 mg of powder. The strip prints no extract ratio, though, so how much more stays unknown.
By weight, the seven plant extracts make up about 70% of the 165 mg strip, and turmeric alone is about 12%. The others are andrographis, date palm, chicory, grape and two Phyllanthus species, so this is a multi-herb strip, not a turmeric supplement like the capsule.
What are curcumin oral strips used for?
Curcumin oral strips are mostly used as a no-water way to take a small, measured amount of turmeric extract. That's a format benefit, and it doesn't come with a promised health result.
Plenty of strip brands promise more. Given the NCCIH verdict quoted above, we won't.
Our label's descriptor line reads "Hydration & Clarity Formula," and the strip is shelved in our nootropics and focus collection beside other dissolving strips. Good reasons to pick a strip over a capsule:
- Swallowing capsules is a chore, or you already take several a day.
- You want nothing to wash down, since the label names no water.
- You'd rather have mango and orange flavor than an unflavored capsule.
- You want vegan, gluten free and non-GMO claims, which our label carries.
The strip's second headline herb gets its own write-up in our guide to what andrographis is and where it comes from.
What is the most effective way to absorb turmeric?
Pairing curcumin with piperine from black pepper is the one absorption method NCCIH names, and it doesn't compare strips, sprays or capsules as routes.
Better absorption cuts both ways. NCCIH's safety notes tie a 2-to-3-month "likely safe" window to plain products, which it calls conventionally formulated and not modified for bioavailability. Formulas designed to absorb more get a sterner note: they may harm your liver.
Our capsule's panel carries 10 mg of BioPerine®, a branded pepper extract, in each 2-capsule serving. That's the pairing NCCIH describes, so we don't stretch the 2-to-3-month window to cover the capsule. The strip's panel has no pepper row, and its label makes no absorption claim. If pepper is the part you're weighing, our look at why turmeric gets paired with black pepper compares the pepper rows across our shelf.
You'll also see advice to take turmeric with a fatty meal. The NCCIH page we rely on doesn't cover food pairing, so follow your label's timing instead.
Strip or capsule: which turmeric format suits you?
Betterly's Turmeric & Andrographis Strips suit people who want no water, a flavor and a vegan label. The Turmeric Curcumin & Boswellia Capsules suit people who want more turmeric and a figure they can check.
| If this matters most | Strip | Capsule |
|---|---|---|
| Nothing to swallow | Melts on the tongue | Two capsules before a meal |
| A curcuminoid number | Not printed | About 95 mg from the extract row |
| Shellfish allergy | No shellfish listed | Label says don't take it |
| Vegan label | Yes | No, lists shellfish |
| Flavor and sweetener | Mango, orange, steviol glycosides | Unflavored |
| Other actives | Six more plant extracts | Ginger, boswellia and seven more |
Read the table as a list of deal-breakers. A shellfish allergy rules out the capsule, and needing a curcuminoid amount rules out the strip. Otherwise, you're choosing between two capsules and one melting film.
About that shellfish line: the capsule's panel lists glucosamine sulfate and chondroitin sulfate, and its Contains line names crab, lobster and crawfish. Our explainer on glucosamine and shellfish covers the usual connection.
From our shop: Turmeric & Andrographis Strips — a turmeric option with nothing to swallow, listing 20 mg of Curcuma longa extract per 1 Oral Strip (165 mg) serving beside andrographis and five more plant extracts, with vegan, gluten free and non-GMO claims on the label.
How do the labels say to take each turmeric format?
Take Betterly's Turmeric & Andrographis Strips as one strip on the tongue daily, and the Turmeric Curcumin & Boswellia Capsules as two capsules once a day before a meal.
- The strip. Lay one strip on your tongue and leave it until it's gone. Its label sets no time of day and mentions no water.
- The turmeric capsule. The label's suggested use is two capsules once a day, ideally 20-30 min before a meal.
- The liver capsule. The label says adults take two capsules daily, with 6-8 oz (177-237 ml) of water.
- Tally your turmeric rows. List every product you take with a turmeric or Curcuma longa row, and show that list to your provider before adding another.
From our shop: Turmeric Curcumin & Boswellia Capsules — for turmeric you can measure, with a 100 mg extract row standardized to 95% curcuminoids next to 800 mg of root powder in each 2-capsule serving.
When is a turmeric strip or capsule the wrong buy?
Betterly's Turmeric & Andrographis Strips add little if pills are easy for you, since the strip's edge is convenience, not a proven turmeric absorption advantage.
A few other cases point away from one format or the other:
- You want to measure your turmeric. A 20 mg extract row with no strength beside it can't stand in for the capsule's rows.
- A turmeric capsule is already part of your day. Adding the strip for its turmeric just layers a small, unmeasured amount on top.
- You'd rather skip andrographis and the other five extracts. Turmeric is only about 12% of the strip.
- You wanted a light, flavored daily strip. The capsule brings glucosamine, ginger, boswellia and more alongside its turmeric.
Who should check with a healthcare provider first?
Talk with a healthcare provider before either format if you're pregnant or nursing, under 18, taking any medicine, having surgery soon, or managing a health condition.
Both the strip and the capsule print the same caution: "Consult a physician if pregnant, nursing, under 18, or have a medical condition." The federal fact sheets go further:
- Pregnant or hoping to conceive. NCCIH says turmeric supplements may be unsafe during pregnancy. ODS adds that andrographis might affect fertility, so some scientists suggest steering clear of it if you're pregnant or planning to conceive.
- Taking medicine. NCCIH's advice for anyone on any type of medicine is to talk with a provider before trying an herbal product. ODS's immune-function fact sheet names three kinds of medicine andrographis could interact with, among them blood thinners and drugs that suppress immune activity.
- Surgery coming up. Andrographis might thin the blood, per ODS, and its guide Dietary Supplements: What You Need to Know counts a higher bleeding risk and a changed response to anesthesia among the ways some supplements matter around an operation. Tell your surgical team.
- Nursing. NCCIH says the safety of turmeric beyond food amounts during breastfeeding is largely unknown.
- Any liver concern. NCCIH says to stop turmeric products right away and contact your provider if fatigue, nausea, poor appetite, dark urine or yellowing skin or eyes appears.
- Licorice limits. The strip lists licorice extract with no amount. If you've been told to limit licorice, show your provider the label.
ODS lists possible andrographis side effects as well: nausea, vomiting, dizziness, skin rashes, diarrhea and fatigue.
FAQ: sublingual turmeric and turmeric strips
Should you hold a turmeric strip under your tongue?
No, set Betterly's Turmeric & Andrographis Strips on top of your tongue, as the label directs, and let each one dissolve there. Tucking the film underneath doesn't change its contents: 20 mg of Curcuma longa extract per 1 Oral Strip (165 mg) serving, wherever it melts. A turmeric spray or drop sold as sublingual has its own directions, and those are the ones to follow for that product.
When should you take a turmeric strip?
Any time of day fits our turmeric strip's label: the Turmeric & Andrographis Strips name no clock time or meal, just one strip on the tongue daily. The capsule's label is more specific, calling for two capsules once a day, 20-30 min before a meal for best results.
Do turmeric strips contain black pepper?
Ours don't, but other brands' turmeric strips vary, so check each panel for black pepper, piperine or BioPerine®. The panel on Betterly's Turmeric & Andrographis Strips lists none of the three. Its seven active rows are all plant extracts, with turmeric at 20 mg. Of the labels compared here, the pepper sits in the Turmeric Curcumin & Boswellia Capsules, at 10 mg of BioPerine® per 2-capsule serving.
Can you take a turmeric strip and turmeric capsules on the same day?
Only after checking with a provider, because neither our turmeric strip's label nor the capsule's suggests combining them. One strip plus one capsule serving adds up to 20 mg of turmeric extract, 800 mg of root powder and 100 mg of curcuminoid extract in a day. Each label says "Do not exceed recommended dose," and stacking two turmeric products goes beyond what either one directs.
Are curcumin strips vegan?
Some are: our Turmeric & Andrographis Strips carry vegan, gluten free and non-GMO claims on the label, but other brands vary, so check each one. Our Turmeric Curcumin & Boswellia Capsules aren't vegan. Their Contains line lists shellfish (crab, lobster and crawfish), even though the shell is hypromellose, a vegetable capsule.
Sources
- Turmeric: Usefulness and Safety (NCCIH)
- Botanical Dietary Supplements: Background Information, Fact Sheet for Consumers (NIH Office of Dietary Supplements)
- Dietary Supplements for Immune Function: Fact Sheet for Consumers, andrographis section (NIH Office of Dietary Supplements)
- Dietary Supplements: What You Need to Know, Fact Sheet for Consumers (NIH Office of Dietary Supplements)
If this left you looking for somewhere to start, read turmeric strips that dissolve on the tongue — its amounts per serving are listed on the page. For the practical questions this raises, how dosing, sourcing and subscriptions work is answered in one place.















